Skilled Rockland County, NY Traffic Ticket Lawyer Fights Driving without a License Violations
Just like every other state in the country, New York requires all operators of cars, motorcycles, trucks and buses, to have a valid driver’s license. There is no leeway to this requirement. Without a driver’s license, you may not drive in Rockland County or anywhere else in New York. Failure to follow this law may result in fines and possible jail time.
If you are facing an unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle or aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle ticket issued by a police officer in Rockland County, NY, you need a knowledgeable, experienced lawyer who will fight for you. I’m Jonathan D. Katz, Esq. and I’ve been helping clients in the Mid-Hudson Valley of New York fight these types of tickets for more than 30 years. I will help you, too, by putting my experience and knowledge to work defending you against your charges in a Rockland County courtroom.
What is the Difference Between the Two Types of Driving without a License Charges in in New York?
Depending on the circumstances of your traffic stop, you may be facing either misdemeanor or felony charges for driving without a license in Rockland County, NY.
There are two types of violations regarding driving without a license in the State of New York:
Unlicensed Operation of a Motor Vehicle: This a misdemeanor charge with penalties that include fines and up to 15 days in jail. If your license recently expired or you do have a valid driver’s license but are unable to present it to the traffic officer who pulled you over, this is likely the charge you would be facing. These charges are outlined under Section 509 of the New York Vehicle and Traffic Code
On the other hand, Aggravated Unlicensed Operation of a Motor Vehicle is a far more serious charge. First off, depending on the circumstances, you could be charged with a first degree felony crime. You will have a criminal record and will be facing fines and jail time if you are convicted of your charges. These charges are included in Section 511 of the New York Vehicle and Traffic Code.
Don’t just pay the ticket and give up your right to your day in court. Contact me today to schedule a consultation about your driving without a license ticket. In many cases, you won’t have to return to Rockland County, or take time off of work, to fight your ticket. Call me today so I can begin planning your defense.
Call Today for Your Consultation with a Skilled, NY, Traffic Ticket Lawyer
If you live outside of Rockland County, NY, I understand that you don’t want to return to face your traffic charges. You might be inclined to pay the ticket and plead guilty. Do not pay the ticket until you speak with me. I may be able to represent you in court so you don’t have to take time off of work to appear before a judge. I can save you time and money by negotiating with the local prosecutor here in an effort to get your charges amended.
Take advantage of a consultation about your charges. Jonathan D. Katz, Esq. will put all of his experience and knowledge of New York’s Vehicle and Traffic Codes to work for you. As your lawyer, he can stand in your place in court and in negotiations, saving you precious time and money if you live far away. In many cases, Mr. Katz can negotiate a deal with the prosecutor to get your traffic ticket reduced to a lesser charge or dismissed. He will do everything possible to protect your rights and minimize fines, points, jail time and keep your criminal record clean.
Contact Mr. Katz in his office today at 845-377-2022 so he can get started planning your defense.